Indian Open Past Winners Since 1973 | Lee Chong Wei Most Successful with 3 Titles (2011,2013,2014)

Indian Open Past Winners

The Indian Open is the annual badminton tournament which will be held in India since 1973. First tournament singles men’s won by Denmark badminton player (Svend Pri) and women’s singles won by (Eva Twedberg). The event discontinued after 1997. In 2008 the organizers re-established the event. Indian Open past winners and current defending champions Viktor Axelsen and Ratchanok Intanon hopeful to retain the title.

YearMen’s SinglesWoman Singles
2013Lee Chong WeiRatchanok Intanon
2014Lee Chong Wei Wang Shixian
2015Srikanth KidambiSaina Nehwal
2016Japan Kento MomotaRatchanok Intanon
2017Viktor AxelsenP. V. Sindhu
2018Shi YuqiBeiwen Zhang
2019Viktor AxelsenRatchanok Intanon

Lee Chong Wei, one of the badminton legends from Malaysia, hold most successful record, he won the event twice. Before him Boonsak Ponsana, Indonesian top badminton star (Taufik Hidayat) in 2009 and Alamsyah Yunus in 2010 dominate it. Saina Nehwal and PV Sindhu both won the women’s singles Indian open (2015 and 2017). Further details regarding Indian Open past winners provided in the table. It’s first listed event of BWF calendar 2022.

After 2 years break, due to covid-19, the event re-schedule held in the first month of January 2022.

Leave a Comment