Australia Team Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

The Australian cricket team was a part of the first test match that took place in 1877 at Melbourne Cricket Ground. Australia came out victorious in this match, defeating the English team by 45 runs. To this very day, the Australian team is among the most talented and formidable cricket teams. 

Australian Cricket Team Captain: Pat Cummins

Patrick James Cummins is the captain of the Australian Cricket Team. He was awarded captaincy in 2021 due to his leadership potential and professionalism. He is known as the best bowlers of his generation. According to the ICC test bowling rankings 2023, Cummins is rated the number one bowler in the world. Cummins played a big role in the victory of the Australian cricket team at the 2015 World Cup. In 2019 Cummins won the Allan Border Medal for his achievements and also bagged the title of ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. 

Star player

Pat Cummins is regarded as the star player of the Australian cricket team. Being the best bowler of his generation, Pat has led his team to victory many times. Under his captainship, the Australian cricket team dominated the Ashes in 2022. Pat Cummins is a talented bowler with a bright future ahead of him.

Australian Cricket Team Coach: Andrew McDonald 

Andrew McDonald is a former cricket player and an all-rounder. Andrew became a cricket coach after his retirement. Throughout his coaching career, Andrew has coached Victoria, Leicestershire County Cricket Club, and Melbourne Renegades. During his first year as senior coach of Victoria, he was awarded the Sheffield Shield for his accomplishments. In 2022 Andrew moved up the ranks and was appointed head coach of the Australian Cricket team.

Australian Team Squad

Cricket Australia hasn’t announced the Australian team squad for World Cup yet, but you can take a look at the table below depicting the possible team squad for ICC World Cup:

Player nameRole
Aaron FinchBatsman
Pat CumminsBowler
Ashton AgarBowler
Tim DavidBatsman
Josh HazlewoodBowler
Josh InglisWicket-keeper
Mitchell MarshBatsman
Glenn MaxwellAll-rounder
Kane RichardsonBowler
Steven SmithBatter
Mitchell StarcBowler
Marcus StoinisBatsman
Matthew WadeWicketkeeper
David WarnerBatsman
Adam ZampaSpinner

You all know that when the Australian cricket team comes to play, they take the field with one thing on their minds, victory. 

When will the Team Squad be announced?

Cricket Australia hasn’t announced the team squad yet. The announcement will most probably come in three weeks or right before the World Cup Qualifiers. 

Which players from the current squad appeared in the previous World Cup tournaments?

Let’s look at the players who have previously graced the World Cup field.

Player nameWorld Cup year
Aaron Finch2019
Pat Cummins2019, 2015
Glenn Maxwell2019, 2015
Kane Richardson2019
Steven Smith2019, 2015. 2011
Mitchell Starc2019, 2015
Marcus Stoinis2019
Matthew Wade2019
David Warner2019, 2015
Adam Zampa2019
Mitchell Marsh2015
Josh Hazlewood2015

Possible lineup

Cricket Australia hasn’t announced the possible lineup yet. Here is our prediction:

History of Australia at the Cricket World Cup

Australia has been a part of the World Cup since its debut tournament in 1975. The Australian cricket team is the most successful one in the World Cup and was crowned World Cup champions in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

1975Runner-up lost to West Indies
1979Reached group stage but got eliminated 
1983Reached group stage but got eliminated 
1987Won World Cup
1992Were able to reach Round Robin Stage
1996Runner-up lost to Sri Lanka
1999Won World Cup
2003Won World Cup
2007Won World Cup
2011Reached quarterfinals but lost to India
2015Won World Cup
2019Reached semifinals but lost to England