England Team Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Under the governance of the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) since 1997, the England cricket team represents England and Wales in cricket tournaments. The cricket team was governed by Marylebone Cricket Club until it switched to ECB in 1997. England’s cricket team is a member of the ICC and the Scottish and Irish players also played for England till the 1990s as those countries weren’t ICC members. 

England Cricket Team Captain: Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler enjoys captainship over the England Cricket team in limited-overs cricket and represents Lancashire in domestic cricket. Buttler is a renowned batter known for his aggressive and innovative batting style. 

Star Player

Ben Stokes is the best player on England’s cricket team. The undisputed king of cricket, Ben Stokes, is known as the star payer of England. He is one of the most influential cricketers. With his strategical batting and management skills, no doubt he was named the Man of the Match in 2019.

He plays for England T20I team and represents Durham in domestic cricket. 2019 was Ben’s year as he lead his team to victory in the ICC Cricket World Cup, bringing home the prestigious trophy for the first time. Stokes is the holder of many esteemed awards like the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award and the ICC Award for Best Men’s Cricketer

England Cricket Team Coach

Brendon McCullum

Brendon McCullum is a former, renowned New Zealand cricketer. He was appointed as Test Format head coach for the England cricket team in May 2022. Brendon is known for being the best batsman and for his quick scoring. He also has the reputation of being one of the best captains in New Zealand’s cricket history.

England Cricket Team Squad

The ECB hasn’t announced the cricket team squad for the World Cup, but we might have a few predictions.

Player nameRole
Jason RoyBatsman
Jonny BairstowWicket-keeper Batsman
Joe RootBatsman
Ben StokesAll-rounder
Liam LivingstoneAll-rounder
Jos ButtlerWicket-keeper
Sam CurranAll-rounder
Chris WoakesAll-rounder
Jofra ArcherBowler
Adil RashidBowler
Mark WoodBowler

England has the best players and they have showcased their talent in Super League quite well. Let’s see what this team will do in the ICC World Cup

When will the team squad be announced?

ECB has yet to issue an official notification regarding the team squad for ICC World Cup 2023. We will update you once ECB will come forward with the decision, which will probably happen before the World Cup Qualifiers.

Possible Lineup

ECB has yet to announce the lineup for ICC World Cup 2023, but being cricket fanatics, we made a few predictions: 

Which Players From the Current Squad Have Played in Previous World Cup Tournaments?

Let’s take a look at the players who have previously played in the World Cup.

Player nameWorld Cup year
Jason Roy2019
Joe Root2019, 2015
Ben Stokes2019
Jos Buttler2019, 2015
Chris Woakes2019, 2015
Jofra Archer2019
Adil Rashid2019
Mark Wood2019

History of England at the Cricket World Cup

England cricket team has been a part of the Cricket World Cup ever since the tournament’s debut in 1975. Cricket World Cup made its debut with England as the host country and ever since then England has had the pleasure to host Cricket World Cup four times i.e., 1979, 1983, 1999, and 2019.

1975Lost to Australia in the semifinals
1979Runners-up, lost to West Indies in the finals
1983Made it to the semifinals but lost to India
1987Runners-up, lost to Australia in the finals
1992Made it to the finals but lost to Pakistan 
1996Made it to the quarterfinals but lost to Sri Lanka
1999Were only able to reach the Pool stage
2003Only reached the Pool stage
2007Only reached Super 8
2011Reached the quarterfinals but lost to Sri Lanka
2015Only reached the Pool stage
2019Champions, brought the World Cup trophy home