ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money (Confirmed)

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money and Winners Share

The international cricket council (ICC) has increased the T20 World Cup prize money yet again in line with long-term goal to keep international cricket more relevant compared to domestic T20 leagues. After doubling the total prize money pool for 2021 T20 World Cup, ICC announced another 50% increase in total prize money pool for 2022 World Cup which takes place in Australia this October/November.

Compared to 2021 World Cup where a total of $5.6 million was distributed among 16 teams according to how they finish in the tournament, 2022 event will see that total rise to $8.4 million. Where eventual winners will pocket as much as $1.6 million for winning the tournament. While every participating nation is guaranteed a $100,000 as preparation fee.

We breakdown the entire World Cup T20 prize money pool according to official ICC guidelines.

Men’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money Breakdown:

ICC has announced that every qualified team is guaranteed a $100,000 payment as the preparation cost. Instead of increasing prize money for winners, ICC has added performance based payments where teams earn $40,000 for every win in First Round and Super 12 Rounds.

  • The team that manages to win this tournament and lifts the trophy will get $1.6million. Runner up team will get $800,000
  • losing semifinalists will get $400,000 each.
  • Teams who get eliminated at Super 12 round will earn $70,000 each
  • Every win will earn the team another $40,000 in Super 12 stage. This money will be accumulated and added into the final payout to the team.
  • Teams who get knock out in First Round will earn $40,000. There will be $40,000 per win reward in first round.

A total of $8.4 million fund makes T20 World Cup 2022 the second highest paying international tournament in world cricket. Only behind 50 over the world cup where $12 million prize money is allocated for 2023 World Cup.

Check out the complete breakdown of T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money:

StageMen’s T20 WC
Participating Fee$100,000 every team
First Round eliminated teams (4)$40,000 each
First Round Win Bonus$40,000 per win
8 Eliminated Teams In Super 12 Round$70,000 each
Match Win Bonus (Super 12)$40,000 per win
Losing Semifinalists (2)$400,000
Winner$1.6 Million
Highest Run Scorer$100,000
Man of the Series$100,000
Total Prize Money$8.4 million


Do ICC award the prize money to players or Cricket boards ?

ICC award the prize money to cricket boards of participating nations. ICC do not pay any salary or prize money to players apart from cash prized on individual performances. Such as Man of the match etc.

Do players get part of this prize money fund ?

Its solely depend on cricket boards how they compensate the players. Usually cricket boards award certain bonuses for winning or meeting the objects in World Cups. Plus most of international crickets have central contracts with their boards.

Do women cricket has the same prize money fund as men T20 World Cup ?

ICC has significantly increased prize money fund for women T20 world cup. But it still comes up short compared to men’s world cup

Writer’s Picks: