ICC World Cup 2023 Qualified Teams | How The Teams Go Through Knockout Stages Format (Confirmed)

Cricket World Cup Teams

Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule has been confirmed as ICC declared the delay of mega event. Formerly, the event was to be played between February and March. But Covid-19 pandemic has created problem for qualification round to occur. Now, October and November window proposed for the event. ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 qualified teams and the process of qualification revealed as the date and venue finalized.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualified Teams

As per the official details, 10 teams will participate in the tournament. India being the host has automatically qualified for the event. While the remaining 9 positions will be filled on the basis of international ODI ranking and qualification round.

Direct Qualification: 7 teams besides the host nation will make direct appearance in the mega event. Top 7 ranked teams in the ICC World Cup Super League from the 2020 to 2023 season will having confirmed berth in the mega event. A total of 13 teams have participated in the league including:

  • England
  • New Zealand
  • India
  • Australia
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands

The teams who finished in the top 8 positions until May 31, 2023 will qualify directly for the competition.

Qualification Process: The remaining 5 teams will have to play the qualification round to confirm the remaining 2 berths in world cup. 2023 World Cup qualifier will take place in Zimbave from June 18 to July 9, 2023. Top 2 nations from the qualifying round will join the 8 others directly qualified teams.


The format of World Cup 2023 includes the round robin style in group stage while the knockout stage includes 2 semi-finals. Final will feature the contest between top 2 best teams of the tournament. England will be the defending champions and India is the host country.

All these are the details about the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 qualified teams and the process of qualification. If there is any change, we will make them available here. Stay tuned for more information!