India Team Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

After the introduction of cricket by British sailors in the 18th century, it has become the most popular game in India. India cricket team also known as the Men in Blue comes under the administration of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The India cricket team is a full member of the International Cricket Council and had been a part of the World Cup since its debut. 

India Cricket Team Captain: Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is the current captain of the Men in Blue. He is known as the greatest batsman of his generation and is also one of the best opening batters. His amazing gamesmanship landed him the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award in 2019. Rohit is the record holder of three double-centuries in ODIs. Due to his impeccable leadership skills, India won the Asia Cup of 2018. He is also the holder of two national honours, Arjuna Award 2015 and Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna 2020.

Star Player: Virat Kholi

Kholi’s exceptional skills with the bat and his aggressive batting style landed him the title of the Best Batsman. Kholi is the record holder for scoring the most runs in IPL and T20I. His exceptional performance on the cricket field landed him the title of Male Cricketer of the Decade by ICC. Virat was part of the 2011 World Cup and helped his team win the tournament. 

India Cricket Team Coach

Head coach: Rahul Dravid

A former Indian cricketer and captain of the Indian cricket team, Rahul Dravid was appointed as head coach in 2021. He is known for having an exceptional batting technique and was able to bag the title of the Greatest Batsman in the history of cricket during his days in the field. His work on the cricket field also landed him the position of Head of Cricket at the National Cricket Academy.

Batting coach: Vikram Rathour

Vikram is among the best batsman of his generation and a prolific run scorer. Throughout his career, he played 6 tests and 7 ODIs. In November 2021 Rathour was appointed as the batting coach of the Indian cricket team. 

Bowling coach: Paras Mhambery

Paras a former cricketer was appointed as the bowling coach of the Indian cricket team. During his career as a cricketer, Paras played two test matches and three ODIs. 

India Team Squad

The Board of Control for Cricket in India hasn’t announced the Indian team squad for ICC World Cup 2023 but, here are our predictions for the India Team Squad.

Player nameRole
Virat KohliBatsman
Rohit SharmaBatsman
Shubham GilBatsman
Shikhar DhawanBatsman
Ishan KishanWicket-keeper Batsman
KL RahulBatsman
Shreyas IyerBatsman
Rishabh PantWicket-keeper Batsman
Hardik PandyaAll-rounder
Suryakumar YadavAll-rounder
Ravinder JadejaAll-rounder
Axar PatelLeft-arm spinner
Yuzvendra ChahalLegspinner
Kuldeep YadavLeft arm Chinaman
Jasprit BumrahPacer
Prasidh KrishnaPacer
Arshdeep SinghPacer

The Indian team needs no introduction when it comes to their performance on the field. With Kohli and Rohit, I’m sure the team will have no trouble and will most probably become this year’s ICC World Cup winners. 

When will the Team Squad be announced?

As of yet, there is no news when BCCI will announce the team squad, but it will most probably happen before the World Cup Qualifiers. 

Which Players From the Current Squad Appeared in the Previous World Cup Tournaments?

Let’s take a look at the players from the current Indian team squad that have appeared in World Cup before.

Player nameWorld Cup year
Virat Kohli2019, 2015, 2011
Rohit Sharma2019, 2015, 2007
Shikhar Dhawan2019, 2015, 
KL Rahul2019
Rishabh Pant2019
Hardik Pandya2019
Ravinder Jadeja2019, 2015
Yuzvendra Chahal2019
Jasprit Bumrah2019

Possible Lineup

The lineup hasn’t been announced yet, but you can consult our predicted lineup:

History of India at the Cricket World Cup

The two times World Cup champion has been a part of ICC World Cup since 1975. Being a member of ICC, the Indian team appeared in the debut game of 1975. 

1975Reached group stage
1979Reached group stage
1983Won the world cup
1987Made it to the semifinals where they faced defeat at the hands of England
1992Reached Round Robin Stage but got eliminated later
1996Reached the semifinals but lost to Sri Lanka
1999Was able to reach Super Six
2003Runners-up, lost to Australia 
2007Reached group stage
2011Won the World Cup
2015Reached semifinals but lost to Australia
2019Reached semifinals but lost to New Zealand