Lanka Premier League 2021-Everything You Need To Know

Lanka Premier League 2021 is starting from the 5th of December. The Final will be played on the 24th of December. This year league edition is the 2nd. LPL is held under Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) in Sri Lanka. This year’s edition will feature a total of 5 teams.

SLC had changed the date 3 times for LPL 2021 due to the unavailability of overseas players. However, the 5th of December is locked now. The opening match will be played between last season’s Finalists Jaffna Kings and Galle Gladiators.

We will be covering every news and detail of the Lanka premier league including match schedule and players contracts. Which TV channel will do the coverage, Prize money, and availability of overseas players.

All 5 teams have their own dedicated pages. These pages include squad details and possible playing eleven combinations.

LPL 2021 Schedule (confirmed)

LPL 2021 will be starting on 5th December. A total of 24 matches will be played among 5 teams. The tournament final match will take place on 23rd December at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium. SLC has released the LPL 2021 match schedules along with its venues.

LPL 2021 Teams Squad

The second edition of LPL will feature a total of 5 teams. 24 matches will be played among them including the final. Jaffna Kings will enter the tournament as a defending champion.

LPL Teams:

  1. Colombo Stars
  2. Dambulla Giants
  3. Galle Gladiators
  4. Jaffna Kings
  5. Kandy Warriors
LPL 2021 Prize Money confirmed

Lanka Premier league has increased its prize money for winners and runners-up. LPL 2021 sees a hike of %30 in overall prize money. Moreover, winners will get $100,000 US. Other match bonuses are also included.

LPL 2021 TV channels (Confirmed)

SLC has awarded the broadcasting license of the Lanka premier league to Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN). SPN will host the right TV rights for the second consecutive season.

Previous season winner

Last year’s final match was played between Galle Gladiators vs Jaffna kings. Jaffna kings won the final match with 53 runs margin.

1st2020LPL 2020Jaffna StallionsGalle Gladiators
2nd2021LPL 2021TBDTBD

Leave a Comment