Pakistan Team Squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Pakistan has been a part of the Cricket World Cup since the tournament first began in 1975. The Pakistani cricket team always manages to qualify for the World Cup and once even brought the World Cup trophy home. 

Pakistan cricket team captain: Babar Azam

Babar Azam is the captain of the formidable Pakistani cricket team. He is recognized as one of the best batters in the cricket world. During the 2019 World Cup, Babar Azam was named by ICC as one of the five exciting talents debuting in the World Cup. Babar Azam is named the third-fastest Pakistani batsman to reach 1000 runs in ODI cricket.

Star player

Babar Azam is known as the star player of Pakistan cricket team. In 2021 Babar Azam won the ODI Player of the year award and to this day he is known as the world’s top ODI batter. 

Pakistan cricket team coach

Bowling coach: Shaun Tait

The bowling coach of the Pakistan cricket team is Shaun Tait. He was appointed on February 2022 by the Pakistan Cricket Board. Shaun is a former Australian cricketer and won four awards throughout his career, including the prestigious Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award in 2004.  

Head Coach: Grant Bradburn

On 13th May 2023, Pakistan Cricket Board appointed Grant Bradburn as the head coach of the Pakistan cricket team. Bradburn is a former New Zealand cricketer and he also worked as the head coach of Scotland’s men’s cricket team.

After his appointment, PCB Management Committee Chairperson Najam Sethi stated:

“I am delighted to name Grant Bradburn as the head coach of our men’s side. Bradburn joins the side with plethora of coaching experience. After having worked with our men’s side before and at the National Cricket Academy, he understands our culture and philosophy of cricket well and is an ideal candidate to take our team forward.

“After the announcement of Mickey Arthur as team director, Bradburn’s appointment is another step in our endeavours of putting together a highly qualified coaching panel so our players can benefit from their experiences and dominate world cricket in all three formats.”

Pakistan Cricket Team squad

The team squad for World Cup isn’t announced yet, but we have made a table depicting the probable team squad.

Player nameRole
Mohammad WasimBowler
Shan MasoodBatsman
Babar AzamBatsman
Mohammad RizwanWicket-keeper
Mohammad HarisWicket-keeper
Salman AghaAll-rounder
Haris SohailBatsman
Shadab KhanAll-rounder
Mohammad NawazAll-rounder
Shaheen Shah AfridiBowler
Naseem ShahBowler
Haris RaufBowler
Abdullah ShaffiqueBatsman

This team setup looks like it is going to set the field on fire with its performance. These players know how to play to win, and we would love to see Pakistan take the ICC World Cup trophy home. 

Possible lineup for the World Cup

PCB has yet to announce the lineup for World Cup, but here is the possible lineup:

When will the final squad be announced?

As of yet, PCB has no announcements regarding the team squad for ICC World Cup. PCB will most probably issue a notification in three weeks’ time.

Which players from the current team squad played in previous World Cup Tournaments?

Let’s take a look at the players who appeared in the previous World Cup tournaments.

Player nameWorld Cup year
Babar Azam2019
Haris Sohail2019, 2015
Shadab Khan2019
Shaheen Shah Afridi2019

History of Pakistan at the Cricket World Cup

Pakistan was a part of the debut game of 1975. The Pakistani team has a strong lineup consisting of Zaheer Abbas, Imran Khan, Majid Khan, and Mushtaq Muhammad. Despite having talented players in its arsenal, Pakistan was eliminated in the group stages. 

Let’s take a look at the proud record of Pakistan in the cricket world.

1975Pakistan eliminated in the group stages after one win
1979Lost to West Indies in the semifinal by 43 runs
1983The team made it to the semifinals but lost to West Indies by eight wickets
1987Lost to Australia in the semifinals
1992Pakistani team won the World Cup. 
1996Eliminated in the semifinals
1999Made it to the finals but lost to Australia by 8 wickets
2003Eliminated at group stage
2007Eliminated at the group stage
2011Reached the semifinals but lost to India
2015Got eliminated in the Quarterfinals by Australia
2019Got eliminated at the group stage