Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


List of Past Winners of T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup 2021 was suppose to take place in 2020 but due to pandemic it was postponed and will take place in Oman and UAE this October/November 2021. It will be the sixth edition of the shortest version of the game. West Indies is the only team to have won the tournament more than once and on this page we take a look at all past T20 world cup winners.

So far only West Indies has won the T20 World Cup more than one occassion. Other winners include the three sub continue teams Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka

T20 World Cup 2007 – Champions India

First even T20 world cup took place in South Africa back in 2007. India went on to win the inaugural event beating arch rivals Pakistan in the final by just 5 runs. That tournament set the standard for things to come as far as shorter format of the game was concerned.

T20 World Cup 2009 – Champions Pakistan

Second T20 world cup was won by Pakistan who defeated Sri Lanka in the final by 8 wickets. Pakistan on those days were probably the best team in T20 format with Shahid Afrid leading the way as he secured two back to back man of the match awards in Semifinal and the big final.

T20 World Cup 2012 – Champions West Indies

The third world cup took place in 2012 when Sri Lanka hosted the event and it was West Indies who went on to win the tournament beating the hosts Sri Lanka in the final.

T20 World Cup 2014 – Champions Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka became the fourth team to win T20 World Cup when the defeated 2007 winners India in the final which took place at Dhaka cricket stadium in Bangladesh.

T20 World Cup 2016 – Champions West Indies

West Indies became the first team to win the tournament for more than one occassion when they went on to beat England in the final by 4 wickets.

T20 World Cup 2007IndiaPakistanIndia won by 5 runs
T20 World Cup 2009PakistanSri LankaPakistan won by 8 wickets
T20 World Cup 2012West IndiesSri LankaWest Indies won by 36 runs
T20 World Cup 2014Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 6 wickets
T20 World Cup 2016West IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 4 wickets
T20 World Cup 2021N/AN/AN/A

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The upcoming fightweek of boxing pay-per-view schedule announced. In the upcoming weekend, Gervonta Davis come head to head with Isaac Cruz, the fight already...


The upcoming Golf PGA tour announced, Hero World Challenge 2021. Event called-off last year due to covid-19 there are chances the upcoming may also...

Odd Sports

The upcoming Badminton event for December 2021, confirmed, BWF world tour final dates confirmed. Viktor Axelsen, Lee Zii Jia and Rasmus Gemke key players...


FIFA Arab Cup 2021 official dates confirmed, the 10th edition will began from 30th November and final played on 18th December. Qatar will host...