The Ashes Trophy History & Material

The Ashes cricket series is one of the oldest sporting event which takes place every two years between England and Australia. Its a test series with 5 matches and The Ashes trophy is awarded to the team who wins the series. Unlike the other iconic trophies in Sports, Ashes has a unique history which dates back to 1882 when the Ashes legend started.

The Ashes Trophy history:

Dates back to 1882 when Australia visited England to play a test series. England playing at home lost the only test match which was a low scoring affair. England needing just 85 runs in the second innings collapsed and lost the only test match resulting in massive criticism in press and media at the time.

A poem written by Reginald Shirley Brooks, appeared in The Sporting Times where the word ashes was used.

In Affectionate Remembrance of ENGLISH CRICKET,

which died at the Oval on 29 August 1882,

Deeply lamented by a large circle of sorrowing friends and acquaintances R.I.P.

N.B.—The body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.

In reply to this poem English captain Ivo Bligh promised to “recover those ashes” when the visit Australia in 1882-83 season. He went on to mention word Ashes several times heading into the tour which England won. After few years the Series between England vs Australia consistently named as “The Ashes” by 19th century.

In the modern times, this series is exclusively marketed as “The Ashes” as it became popular not only in England and Australia but in cricketing world.

Ashes Trophy Material

After one of the series where England defeated Australia in Australia a small urn was presented as trophy to English team and it contained the ashes of “wooden bails” which were described as “Ashes of Australia cricket”. After that it became norm that winning team would retain the Ashes urn and to this day this tradition continue.

Replicas of famous urn are awarded to winning Ashes team and the original urn is kept at the MCC museum at Lord’s

Leave a Comment