Africa Cup of Nations 2022 Groups Announced

Africa Nations Cup Groups

The biggest African football cup is starting from January 9 on the soil of Cameroon. 6 Venues of 5 cities are the host for the events. Defending champions is Algeria as the won the 2019 edition. In 2021, 6 groups formed with each having 4 teams. Teams will compete in 36 matches in group stage to get into the knockout stage. The Africa Cup of Nations groups are below in the table.

Africa Cup of Nations Groups

There are 6 groups in which the teams divided. All group teams will play matches with the other teams of their respective group.

ACameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde
BSenegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi
CMorocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon
DNigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau
EAlgeria, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast
FTunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

Top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stage directly. Then, there will be matches for the 3rd place team of each group. In this way, 16 teams out of 24 will qualify for the eliminator round.

Algeria is placed in Group E while the host Cameroon is in the Group A. The complete match schedule of Africa Cup 2022 is announced.

Leave a Comment