UEFA Euro 2020 Referees & Assitants (Confirmed)

UEFA Euro 2020 was postponed and now it will be taking place in the summer of 2020. UEFA has confirmed that tournament will go ahead even behind closed doors if covid-19 situation wont improve. UEFA has shortlisted the referee and assistant referee list who will be taking charge of UEFA Euro 2020.

The final list will be announced by end of March 2020 which will include 18 referees. final 18 referees will have a team of official with them which will include 2 assistant referees and 1 video assistant referee (VAR) making it a team of 4 that makes it 72 match official who will officiate 51 matches in the Euro 2020 tournament.

UEFA ensures that every referee is accompanied by two assistant referees from the same country who have officiate matches together at the biggest stage like UEFA Champions League or UEFA Europa League. Below is the possible list of 18 referees who are in contention to be selected as UEFA Euro 2020 main-referees. But before we get into the list of Referees here are some of the rules designed by UEFA to make sure refereeing protocols are meet at the highest standard.

Here some of the major rules which needs to be fulfilled before any referee is selected for a specific match.

  • 18-man referee list announced by UEFA in March 2021 will be the final list and there wont be any changes unless a referee in the list fail fitness test or suffer an injury. In such case that referee is replaced with another from reserved list.
  • Each referee will have a team of two assistant referee from the same country who will complete the team and they will only officiate matches together.
  • Referees can be selected for a match of their national teams.
  • UEFA announce the selection for referees for a specific match 3 days before the game.
  • Referees for the final match will be announced after the semifinals are played out.
Felix BrychUEFA (Elite Panel)
Ovidiu HațeganUEFA (Elite Panel)
Szymon MarciniakUEFA (Elite Panel)
Antonio LahozUEFA (Elite Panel)
Damir SkominaUEFA (Elite Panel)
Anthony TaylorUEFA (Elite Panel)
Clément TurpinUEFA (Elite Panel)
Cüneyt ÇakırUEFA (Elite Panel)
Björn KuipersUEFA (Elite Panel)
Gianluca RocchiUEFA (Elite Panel)
Carlos del Cerro GrandeUEFA
Danny MakkelieUEFA
Michael OliverUEFA
Felix ZwayeUEFA
Alyaksey KulbakowUEFA
Anastasios SidiropoulosUEFA

Leave a Comment