List Of All Past Winners Of Ballon d’Or Award From 1956 To 2022

The Ballon d’Or award is presented to the best footballer of the year by France Football. Journalists of France football and other federations have a 50% vote percentage.

The other 50% vote is cast by the national and club team Captains and coaches. France Football presents the Ballon d’Or based on the performance of the player, and how impactful the player was for his team.

The first-ever Ballon d’Or award was given in 1956. The most recent Ballon d’Or award is given to Leo Messi in 2021.

Total 66 Ballon d’Or has been awarded and Leo Messi wins the most. He won 7 ballon d’Or. Cristiano Ronaldo comes second on the list by winning 5. other than them, No player manages to win more than 3.

Let’s take a look at the past winners of Ballon d’Or:

1956Stanley MatthewsEngland
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoSpain
1958Raymond KopaFrance
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoSpain
1960Luis SuárezSpain
1961Omar SívoriItaly
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakia
1963Lev YashinSoviet Union
1964Denis LawScotland
1965Eusébio da Silva FerreiraPortugal
1966Bobby CharltonEngland
1967Flórián AlbertHungary
1968George BestNorthern Ireland
1969Gianni RiveraItaly
1970Gerd MüllerWest Germany
1971Johan CruyffNetherlands
1972Franz BeckenbauerWest Germany
1973Johan CruyffNetherlands
1974Johan CruyffNetherlands
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet Union
1976Franz BeckenbauerWest Germany
1977Allan SimonsenDenmark
1978Kevin KeeganEngland
1979Kevin KeeganEngland
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest Germany
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest Germany
1982Paolo RossiItaly
1983Michel PlatiniFrance
1984Michel PlatiniFrance
1985Michel PlatiniFrance
1986Igor BelanovIgor Belanov
1987Ruud GullitNetherlands
1988Marco van BastenNetherlands
1989Marco van BastenNetherlands
1990Lothar MatthäusGermany
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFrance
1992Marco van BastenNetherlands
1993Roberto BaggioItaly
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgaria
1995George WeahLiberia
1996Matthias SammerGermany
1998Zinedine ZidaneFrance
2000Luís FigoPortugal
2001Michael OwenEngland
2003Pavel NedvědCzech Republic
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkrain
2006Fabio CannavaroItaly
2007Kaká Brazil
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugal
2009Lionel MessiArgentina
2010Lionel MessiArgentina
2011Lionel MessiArgentina
2012Lionel MessiArgentina
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugal
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugal
2015Lionel MessiArgentina
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugal
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugal
2018Luka ModricCroatia
2019Lionel MessiArgentina
2020Not awarded
2021Lionel MessiArgentina
2022Karim BenzemaFrance

until 1995, The award was referred to as the European footballer of the year. it was only given to European players.

After 1995, the eligibility rules were changed. Then it was allowed the non-European players to be eligible for the award. Rules further change and in 2007, any player is declared eligible to win this award.

FIFA player of the year and Ballon d’Or were awarded separately. Between 2009-2015, both federations merged their awards and it goes with the name of FIFA Ballon d’Or.

FAQs Regarding Ballon d’Or award

Q. Who wins the most Ballon d’Or awards?

A. last night, Leo Messi won his record 7 Ballon d’Or, which is most the history of the award.

Q. How many Ballon d’Or does Cristiano Ronaldo have?

A. Cristiano Ronaldo has 5 ballon d’Ors.

Q. Why Lewandoski didn’t win Ballon d’Or in 2020?

A. Ballon d’Or 2020 was canceled by France football due to a covid pandemic. Although he won the FIFA player of the year award.

2 thoughts on “List Of All Past Winners Of Ballon d’Or Award From 1956 To 2022”

Leave a Comment