Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Past Winners of UEFA European Championships

UEFA European Championship is a european national team competition started back in 1960 and takes place every 4 years under the banner of UEFA. It was known as “European Nations’ Cup” at the start but after a few competitions it became widely known as UEFA Euro. We will be taking a look at past winners of UEFA Euro since 1960 to 2021.

Spain and Germany has won UEFA Euro on three different occasions while France (2) are the only other team to have won the tournament more than once. 9 different teams have won the Euro competition since 1960.

UEFA Euro Short History:

Since 1960, 15 editions of European national team competition have taken place with Spain and Germany leading with 3 titles each. France has won the competition twice while Portugal, Italy, Netherlands, Denmark, Czech Republic, Greece and Soviet Union have won the competition once each making it 9 different winners so far. Only Spain has won the competition back to back in 2008 and 2012.

1960 Soviet Union1-0 (Extra-Time)YugoslaviaFrance
1964 Spain2-1Soviet UnionSpain
1968 Italy1-1 aet / 2-0 replayYugoslaviaItaly
1972 West Germany3-0Soviet UnionBelgium
1976 Czechoslovakia2-2 (Extra-Time) - 5-3 (Penalties)West GermanyYugoslavia
1980 West Germany2-1BelgiumItaly
1984 France2-0SpainFrance
1988 Netherlands2-0Soviet UnionWest Germany
1992 Denmark2-0GermanySweden
1996 Germany2-1 (Golden-Goal)Czech RepublicEngland
2000 France2-1 (Golden-Goal)ItalyBelgium & Netherlands
2004 Greece1-0PortugalPortugal
2008 Spain1-0GermanyAustria & Switzerland
2012 Spain4-0ItalyPoland & Ukraine
2016 Portugal1-0 (Extra-Time)FranceFrance

Which Country has won the UEFA Euro Trophy most number of times ?

Germany and Spain are the most successful teams in competition’s history winning three times each.

Team who won UEFA Euro back to back ?

Only Spain has won the competition back to back in 2008 and 2012.

How many winners of UEFA Euro since 1960 ?

9 different winners of the competition. Germany and Spain won it three times each while France is the only other country to have won the competition more than once.

Written By

Writes about financial aspects of major sports specially the ones in motorsports like Formula 1, MotoGP.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Net Worth

Since 2014, Russel Jr made great comeback after losing major pay-per-view title fight from Vasiliy Lomachenko. After Lomachenko fight he made single fight appearance...

Net Worth

Nurmagomedov entered his professional MMA fighting career in 2009. The 29 years old fighter fought his first match against Oscar Nave where he earned...


UFC 270 fight big changes occur before the main event schedule on 22nd January 2022. Jack Della Maddalena fighter earned contract deal with UFC...


UFC 270 fight card announced it’s confirmed that major pay-per-view take place between Francis Ngannou and Ciryl Gane. The preliminary card for the pay-per-view...