Favorite to Win World Cup 2022 Golden Boot Contenders

The World Cup is set to take place from 21st November. Fans are eagerly waiting for some fabulous goal and hoping their favorite football players take home the Golden ball. The Golden Ball is an award that FIFA gives to the player who scores the highest number of goals at the FIFA World Cup. Last time, Three Lions striker Harry Kane take the award home after he bagged 6 goals. Thomas Muller, Ronaldo, and Gary Lineker all won this award. With the starting of the Wolrd cup, Harry Kane is once again the favorite to do it again. However, let’s take a look at the Favorite Players To Win World Cup 2022 Golden Boot

Favorite Players To Win World Cup 2022 Golden Boot

Based on the current form, Harry Kane is the favorite to retain the award. However, Mbappe, Karim Benzema, and Lukaku all are in the race to win.

10). Kai Havertz

Beginning of the list with an Unusual name, who is not a striker or forward But kai Havertz is a real threat on the pitch. In the Germany National team, he replaced the Thomas Muller role and started as a forward or false 9.

He can create more chances and with his exceptional box-to-box ability, he can score plenty of goals for Germany just like Thomas Muller did in 2010 and 2014.

9). Diego Jota

Diego Jota Supreme’s run in the premier league is still counting since his arrival in September 2020. Premier League, Portugal, and Liverpool fans might fancy their chances by backing Jota.

So far in the premier league, he scored 15 goals. He also bagged 5 goals in 7 World Cup qualifiers for Portugal.

8). Memphis Depay 

Memphis is a different player when it comes to Netherland. Depay scored his 13th goal of the year for the Netherlands surpassing Patrick Kluivert’s Dutch record of 12 in a calendar year.

He put Netherland back on the world cup path after they missed the event in 2018. In the World cup European qualifier he averaged 1.2 goals per match. He scored a goal after every 58 minutes. Such stats shows how lethal He is.

7). Neymar Jr

Whatever anyone says about Neymar Jr, one thing remains the same whenever he touches the ball, he produces a magical show. He will lead his side to this year’s world cup as well.

At the International level, he scored 71 goals in 117 games. In South America World Cup qualification, Neymar scored 14 goals in 24 matches. At the World cup, Neymar jr scored 6 times in 10 matches. Such goal-scoring ability will always give him an edge over his rivals.

6). Lionel Messi

Leo Messi is having a poor season at the domestic level for his standards. Able to score just 3 league goals and get thrashed from the Champions League in the Round of 16. However, it is a different story for him in Argentina. With the Argentina team, Messi notched 7 goals in 16 World Cup Qualifiers.

His highest-scoring performance at the World Cup was in 2014 when he scored 4 times and guided Argentina to the finals. Moreover, in the latest edition of Copa America, he was the top scorer with 4 goals.

5). Romelu Lukaku

Whatever you say about him at the league level, His form is sublime and by far is the best at the international level. Although It’s been a disappointing season for Lukaku as he has managed only 5 goals in 20 Premier League appearances for Chelsea.

However, his recent record for Belgium is far more respectable, as the player scored 5 goals in 4 World Cup Qualifying matches and 68 goals overall. Lukaku always seems to shine when playing for Belgium so an uptick in performance should be expected at the World Cup.

4). Cristiano Ronaldo

Winning the Golden Boot award at Euro 2020, after scoring 5 goals in the tournaments, No one can rule out The greatest Goalscorer of all time. Cristiano’s won countless awards but the World Cup Golden Boot still eludes Cristiano Ronaldo. at the last world cup, he scored 4 goals including a hat trick and came close to winning.

The Portugal star made history during the recent World Cup Qualifiers, becoming the all-time leading scorer in international football. He’s currently scored 115 international goals and will certainly look to increase his tally in Qatar.

3). Karim Benzema

From missing out last world cup to potentially carrying France’s attack on the field, Karim Benzema took a big leap. A potential Ballon d’Or winner is in form of his life. His form in the Champions League has been even more impressive, scoring Back To Back hattricks in the champions league knock-out stages against Chelsea and Paris Saint-German, There’s nothing Karim can’t do.

Karim Benzema has had an incredible season for Real Madrid, lighting up LaLiga opponents for 24 goals in 27 games. He is a Leading Goalscorer in La Liga as well. Benzema stands a good chance of beating fellow countryman Kylian Mbappe for the award so long as his teammates provide a level of service similar to what he’s accustomed to at Madrid.

2). Kylian Mbappe

The Golden Boy of our generation will return to the grandest stage of football. In Worldcup 2018, he scored 4 goals including in the Final and against Argentina in Ro16 that eliminating the favorites from the event. Mbappe is the youngest French player to score at the World Cup.

A fine display in Qatar could help him to become France’s first Golden Boot winner since Just Fontaine in 1958. Paris Saint-Germain may have had an underwhelming campaign but Mbappe kept his shooting boots on all season long, scoring 6 goals in 8 Champions League appearances.

1). Harry Kane

The reigning World Cup Golden Boot winner is tipped to defend his scoring title in Qatar. The Three Lion’s captain, Harry Kane tallied 12 goals during their World Cup puts a solid case for retaining the World cup golden boot.

However, he’s having a dip in his league performance as he is only able to score 12 goals this season, but the England Captain has been immense with the national team. As he scored 49 goals in 69 appearances. With 12 goals during their World Cup Qualifiers, ensured that he will head to Qatar in fine international form.

Previous World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Rodriguez was incredible at the 2014 World cup. He take home the Golden Boot at the 2014 World Cup and managed to get it done despite Colombia exiting the tournament in the quarterfinals.

YearGolden Boot WinnerGoals Scored
2018 Harry Kane 6
2014 James Rodriguez6
2010 Thomas Muller 5
2006 Miroslav Klose5
2002 Ronaldo8
1998 Davor Suker 6

Read the complete list of Golden Boot Winners:


The Golden Boot award is given to the player who scores the most goals at the FIFA World Cup. Harry Kane won the award in 2018 after scoring 6 goals and is the favorite to do it once again in Qatar. Players who are favorited to win the Golden Boot 2022 are:

  1. Harry Kane
  2. Kylian Mbappe
  3. Karim Benzema
  4. Cristiano Ronaldo
  5. Romelu Lukaku 
  6. Lionel Messi 
  7. Neymar Jr
  8. Memphis Depay
  9. Diego Jota 
  10. Kai Havertz


Which Player is the favorite to win the Golden Boot in 2022?

England captain Harry Kane is the favorite followed by Kylian Mbappe of France.

Who is the past winner of the Golden Boot in the 2018 World Cup?

Harry Kane won the Golden Boot at the 2018 World Cup after scoring 6 goals.

Will Lionel Messi win the 2022 World Cup Golden Boot?

Messi is 6th favorite to win the World Cup Golden Boot