Every golden ball award winner In FIFA World Cup History from 1982 to 2022

Golden Ball Award

What is Golden Ball Award In World Cups ?

Golden Ball is a individual trophy awarded to the best player of the tournament. It was first introduced back in 1982 where Italy’s Paolo Rossi became the first player to win this award. Since then at the end of Every world cup the best player of the tournament is awarded with this trophy.

How is the winner selected ?

By the semifinal stage a shortlist of best players of the tournament till that stage is drawn by the FIFA’s technical committee and during the final media representatives from different countries select the winner. The award is usually presented after the FIFA World Cup trophy presentation.

NOPlayerWorld Cup
1 Paolo Rossi1982
2 Diego Maradona1986
3 Salvatore Schillaci1990
4 Romario1994
5 Ronaldo1998
6 Oliver Kahn2002
7 Zinedine Zidane2006
8 Diego Forlan2010
9 Lionel Messi2014
10 Luka Modric2018


Leave a Comment