ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Everything You Need Know

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2022 will take place in Australia in October/November 2022. Last time this tournament was held was back in 2021 and it was suppose to take place in 2020 in Australia but due to covid-19 pandemic it was postponed. On this page we take a look at every single aspect of T20 World Cup 2022 from team squads to umpire lists and how you can buy tickets online.

T20 World Cup 2022

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 – Qualified Teams:

Top 10 ICC T20 ranked teams qualified automatically while 6 teams joined them after 2019 T20 world cup qualifiers. (Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Ireland, Scotland and Oman). That makes 16 teams who will be participating in this year’s world cup.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 – Match Schedule:

The tournament will start from 17th October 2022 and will take place till 14th November 2022. A total of 42 matches will take place in the event which is divided into two rounds. Round 1 will feature 6 teams who qualified from qualifiers plus 2 bottom ranked teams in ICC T20 Top 10 rankings. out of the 8 teams in round 1, 4 will qualify for Round 2 which means we will have 12 teams in Round 2. Divided into 2 groups of 6 teams each, every team will play 5 matches. Top two teams from each group will qualify for semifinals.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 – Prize Money:

For the very first time in history of cricket, both men’s and women’s tournament will be held at the same time and the prize money at stake will be same. Winners will take home as much as $1 million. While the total prize money pool for both events will be $3.5 million each for men and women tournaments.

TV Channels Broadcasting ICC T20 World Cup 2022

ICC has promised extensive tv rights deals in major cricket playing countries. Most of the big nations will have T20 world cup coverage on free-to-air channels (at least matches of the home nation). But unlike previous ICC events, people around the world will have a chance to watch tournament live online via ICC official website/apps in countries where TV rights are not bought.

Official Team Squad of all 16 Participating Teams:

All teams are suppose to announce 15-man squads atleast 15 days before the tournament begins. Teams will also name 7 reserve players who can travel with the team as Covid-19 precautions. So if some players from the original 15 man squad drop out they can be replaced from the 7 reserve players.

Past Winners of T20 World Cup:

India won the very first T20 world cup back in 2007, after that Pakistan won it in 2009, followed by wins for England (2010), West Indies (2012), Sri Lanka (2014) and West Indies (2016).