Past Winners of Dakar Rally

Dakar Rally Past Winners

One of the top rally races is Dakar Rally. This annual event has won the hearts of the people all around the world. Nobody in the world is unware of such exciting event. The next season is starting from January 2, 2022 and the world finds a new winner. Till then, let’s we see the Dakar Rally past winners.

Dakar Rally Past Winners

There is a huge list of racers who have dominated the race in their era and won the crown. Starting from 1979, this mega event is producing racing professionals each year.

Let’s have a look at the list of players who became the champions most of the times.

PlayersCategoryTitles & Years
Stéphane PeterhanselBike6 (1991–93, 1995, 1997, 1998)
Cyril NeveuBike5 (1979, 1980, 1982, 1986, 1987)
Cyril DespresBike5 (2005, 2007, 2010, 2012, 2013)
Marc ComaBike5 (2006, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2015)
Edi OrioliBike4 (1988, 1990, 1994, 1996)
Marcos PatronelliQuad3 (2010, 2013, 2016)
Ignacio CasaleQuad3 (2014, 2018, 2020)
Alejandro PatronelliQuad2 (2011, 2012)
Josef MacháčekQuad1 (2009)
Rafał SonikQuad1 (2015)
Stéphane PeterhanselCar8 (2004, 2005, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2021)
Ari VatanenCar4 (1987, 1989 – 1991)
Nasser Al-AttiyahCar3 (2011 , 2015 , 2019)
René MetgeCar3 (1981, 1984, 1986)
Pierre LartigueCar3 (1994, 1995, 1996)
Vladimir ChaginTruck7 (2000, 2002 – 2004, 2006, 2010, 2011)
Karel LopraisTruck6 (1988, 1994, 1995, 1998, 1999, 2001)
Eduard NikolaevTruck4 (2013, 2017 – 2019)
Georges GroineTruck2 (1982, 1983)
Francesco PerliniTruck2 (1992, 1993)

How much is the prize money of Dakar Rally? Different categories has different cash prizes. You can also check the details.

Most Times Dakar Rally Winners in Past

Stéphane Peterhansel is a French rally racing driver. He is the only player who holds the record of 14 times rally champion. He has won 8 titles in cars category and 6 in bike.

Utilizing his immense experience, he won the 2021 car category Dakar Rally. This makes him the toughest competitor. Also, he holds the record of most times win in bike and car category in Dakar Rally.

Cyril Neveu is just behind him with the 5 titles to his name in bike category. While in the car category, Ari Vatanen is at number 2 in car category with 4 crowns to his name.

In Quad category, Marcos Patronelli is the most times champion. He get to this stage 3 times in his career, The last time he won the rally is in 2016.

Ignacio Casale has registered his name at number 2 in Quad category after winning the championship also for 3 times.

The Russian racer Vladimir Chagin ruled the truck category by registering 7 wins. The recent one is in 2011. Karel Loprais is behind him with 6 wins in the same category.

What will be the cost of rides if there is a damage to the car, bike or truck? The mechanical charges, entry fees, and cost values are available.

Winners 2021

In 2021, the 43rd edition of this mega rally race was held in Saudi Arabia that started from Jeddah. The winner of 2021 bike and car category are below.

Kevin Benavides

The 32 years old Argentinian rally raid rider won the 2021 Dakar Rally title. He started learning racing since his childhood. After winning hi maiden title, he proved him as a professional biker and upcoming star of the future.

Stéphane Peterhansel

The 56 years old young car racing driver is the most experienced and talented racer of the Dakar rally. 6 times bike racing champion has also registered 8 titles in car category. The 2021 championship was also at his name and he is now the defending champion in car category.

Leave a Comment