List of Past winners of Golden boy Award

The Golden Boy award is presented to a young player who had a breakout season with the club and national team. This award is presented to the player who only plays in European leagues.

The award is given by France football Journalists pannel to a young footballer based on his performance.

All nominated candidates have to be under 21 in order to be eligible for the award. Barcelona and Spain midfielder, Pedri won this year’s Golden Boy award in Ballon d’Or 2021 ceremony.

Golden Boy Award Past winners

The award was started in 2003 by an Italian sports newspaper. Ajax star player Rafael van der Vaart was the first winner. So far, 19 players have won the award Have a look at the past year winners:

2003Rafael van der VaartAjax
2004Wayne RooneyEverton/ Manchester United
2005Lionel MessiBarcelona
2006Cesc FàbregasArsenal
2007Sergio AgüeroAtlético Madrid
2008AndersonManchester United
2009Alexandre PatoAC Milan
2010Mario BalotelliInter Milan/Manchester City
2011Mario GötzeBorussia Dortmund
2013Paul PogbaJuventus
2014Raheem SterlingLiverpool
2015Anthony MartialMonaco/ Manchester United
2016Renato SanchesBenfica/Bayern Munich
2017Kylian MbappéMonaco/Paris Saint-Germain
2018Matthijs de LigtAjax
2019João FélixAtlético Madrid
2020Erling HaalandBorussia Dortmund
Past Winners of Golden Boy Award

The first and latest Golden boy award winners played in the midfield. Most of the players on the list have established very successful careers.

However, players like Pato, Anderson, Renato Sanches couldn’t fulfill their potential. After winning the award these players lost in the limelight and got vanished from the field.

Most Succesful Golden Boy winners

Wayne Rooney, Leo Messi, Sergio Aguero, Kylian Mbappé, and Cesc Fàbregas have the best career after winning the golden boy award.

Leo Messi

Leo Messi won the Golden Boy award in 2005. After that, Leo never looks back. He established himself as a complete player of the game. Leo won record 7 Ballon d’Or awards (most by any individual).

Other than that he scored 776 career goals and provided 320 career assists in 946 games.

Kylian Mbappé

Mbappe won the award in 2017 after having a breakout season with AS Monaco and PSG. Kylian Mbappé help Monaco to win the Ligue 1 title.

He scores two away goals against Man City in the quarter-finals and to Monaco into the semi-final of the Champions League.

In 2018, Mabpe won the world cup with France and had a tremendous World Cup run.

He scored in the final as well. His goal against Leo Messi Argentina in the quarter-finals was the highlight of the tournament.

Wayne Rooney

The golden boy of England had a tremendous career with Manchester United. Wayne Rooney came to the surface when he finished the Arsenal 48 matches Unbeaten league run by scoring a winning goal.

After that, 18-year-old Rooney catches the attention of all of Europe’s top clubs. Rooney was brought to Old Trafford by none other than Sir Alex. Since that Rooney won 18 titles with United.

FAQs Regarding Golden Boy Award

Q. Did Cristiano Ronaldo win the award?

A. No, Ronaldo never won the award.

Q. Which player won last year’s award?

A. Ering Halland.

Leave a Comment