All Time Longest Winning Streaks In UFC History

10 All time Longest Winning Streaks In UFC History

Winning streaks are hard to come by in the Octagon, and these are the longest ones in UFC history. The debate rages on as to who the greatest UFC fighter in history is. The likes of Randy Couture, Georges St-Pierre, and Jon Jones are possible contenders while Conor McGregor and Ronda Rousey deserve credit for increasing UFC’s mainstream prominence. Let’s take a look at the Longest Winning Streaks In UFC History.

Longest Winning Streaks In UFC History

A major criterion is the dominance of the said fighter. And Accurate representation of fighter dominance is his winning streaks. Conor’s arch-nemesis Khabib Nurmagomedov is widely considered to be a better fighter due to his 29-0 MMA record, which also includes a victory over the Irishman. This list exclusively deals with UFC bouts and highlights the fighters with the most consecutive wins in the company.

5) Jon Jones – 13 wins

Jon Jones is undoubtedly the best-ever fighter in the UFC Light Heavyweight division. He could have topped this list if it weren’t for some unfortunate circumstances, most of which were of his own making.

After a controversial disqualification loss in 2009 against Matt Hamill for using illegal 12-6 elbows, Jones would go on a tear, winning his next 13 fights. He would capture the Light Heavyweight title and later, the interim title but each belt would be stripped off Jones on separate occasions, the latter due to a doping violation.

Jones returned from his one-year suspension and defeated Daniel Cormier to recapture the belt, seemingly going 14-0. However, Jones was once again flagged for a doping violation by USADA and the belt was returned to Cormier. The match was reclassified as a no-contest, which officially ended Jones’ winning streak at 13.

4). Georges St. Pierre – 13 wins

Considered to be one of the greatest MMA fighters in history, Georges Pierre dominated the UFC Welterweight division for close to a decade. It took a while for the Canadian to reign over the division, with defeats against Matt Hughes and Matt Serra halting his momentum.

Undeterred, St. Pierre bounced back and started his legendary 13-fight winning streak with a victory over Josh Koscheck four months later. Both Hughes and Serra would be TKO’d in rematches and GSP retook his crown. Subsequently, he would beat the likes of B.J Penn, Thiago Alves, Jake Shields, Carlos Condit, and Nick Diaz to become universally regarded as the best Welterweight of all time.

After a controversial split-decision victory over Johny Hendricks at UFC 167, St. Pierre vacated his belt and stepped away from the sport.

3). Khabib Nurmagomedov – 13 wins

One of the very few fighters to retire with an unbeaten record. Khabib Nurmagomedov went 29-0 in his career, with 13 of those victories coming in the UFC. He made his promotional debut on the preliminary card of UFC on FX 1 in 2012.

Khabib scored victories over the likes of Abel Trujillo and former Lightweight champion Rafael dos Anjos, and a Lightweight title shot seemed a virtual certainty.

However, Khabib consolidated his grip on the division with a particularly satisfying submission victory over Conor McGregor at UFC 229 which broke all UFC PPV records. Further victories over top contenders Dustin Poirier and Justin Gaethje followed and Nurmagomedov decided to call it a day on his MMA career with a 13-0 UFC record.

2). Kamaru Usman – 15 wins

Kamaru Usman is the current UFC Welterweight champion and holds an impressive 15-0 record in the company. Ever since capturing the title from Tyron Woodley at UFC 235, Usman has dispatched top contenders in style. It includes two victories each over Colby Covington and Jorge Masvidal as well as a TKO win over Gilbert Burns.

He is set to meet Leon Edwards in his next title defense. Leon Edwards was previously beaten in 2015 to kick off his UFC unbeaten streak. He would also beat top-tier talent like Sean Strickland, Damian Maia, and Rafael dos Anjos prior to his ascent as the Welterweight king.

1). Anderson Silva – 16 wins

Silva held the UFC Middleweight title for nearly 2500 consecutive days. In this time frame, Anderson Silva won 16 straight bouts in the company from 2006-to 2012. This included the absolute destruction of Middleweight champ Rich Franklin, who was outclassed by Silva’s legendary striking defense.

Silva’s win kicked off the golden age in UFC’s middleweight division as he defeated contender after contender including the likes of Dan Henderson, Chael Sonnen, and Vitor Belfort.

However, A leg break in a rematch against Weidman ended Silva’s dominance and the Spider went on to win just one of his next seven UFC bouts, leaving the company in 2020.