FIH Hockey World Cup Schedule | Complete Match Dates | Venues (Confirmed)

Hockey World Cup Schedule

The 15th edition of FIH Hockey World Cup announced. Indian earn the rights to host the event which means they are directly qualified for the competition. However, arch rivals Pakistan will not be part of the Hockey World Cup in 2023, the four time world champion could not make it to the rankings. The upcoming FIH hockey world cup schedule 2023 competition announced.

13 January 2023Argentina vs South AfricaBhubaneswarA
13 January 2023Australia vs FranceBhubaneswarA
16 January 2023France vs South AfricaBhubaneswarA
16 January 2023Argentina vs AustraliaBhubaneswarA
20 January 2023Australia vs South AfricaRourkelaA
20 January 2023France vs ArgentinaRourkelaA
14 January 2023Belgium vs South KoreaBhubaneswarB
14 January 2023Germany vs JapanBhubaneswarB
17 January 2023South Korea vs JapanBhubaneswarB
17 January 2023Germany vs BelgiumBhubaneswarB
20 January 2023Belgium vs JapanRourkelaB
20 January 2023South Korea vs GermanyRourkelaB
14 January 2023New Zealand vs ChileRourkelaC
14 January 2023Netherlands vs MalaysiaRourkelaC
16 January 2023Malaysia vs ChileRourkelaC
16 January 2023New Zealand vs NetherlandsRourkelaC
19 January 2023Malaysia vs New ZealandBhubaneswarC
19 January 2023Netherlands vs ChileBhubaneswarC
13 January 2023England vs WalesRourkelaD
13 January 2023India vs SpainRourkelaD
15 January 2023Spain vs WalesRourkelaD
15 January 2023England vs IndiaRourkelaD
19 January 2023Spain vs EnglandBhubaneswarD
19 January 2023India vs WalesBhubaneswarD
How Many Groups FIH Hockey WC 2023 Teams Divided?

This year total 16 teams are participating, the teams are sub divided into group of 4 each. There will be 24 group matches take place before the playoff’s.

  • Once the group stage complete competition for 9th–16th place quarterfinals take place.
  • The quarter finals will be held on 24 and 25th January respectively
  • Semi finals take place on same day (27 January 2023)
  • Kalinga Stadium with capacity of 20k people at time will host final on 29th January 2023.
Who is the Hosting Nations of FIH World Cup 2023?

India become the 2nd time hosting nation of the FIH Hockey World Cup, the previous tournament take place on the same venues during 2018. The two cities where all matches played are Bhubaneswar and Rourkela.

  • The four time world champion Pakistan, could not qualify for the Hockey World Cup 2023
  • India joins the list of the countries who host the major hockey event twice in a row
  • Belgium, defending champions fall in to the Group B alongside Germany, Japan and South Korea.