List Of All Past Winners Of Rugby Worldcup

The Rugby World Cup is a men’s Rugby Union Tournament that is contested every four Between the top international teams. World Rugby, the sport’s international governing body, Adminsitriated the tournament. In the end, the winner of the Rugby World Cup is awarded the Webb Ellis Cup. The first-ever Rugby World Cup tournament was held in 1987. It was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. New Zealand was the first winner of the Rugby World Cup. Till 1987, 10 Tournaments were played. Let’s take a look at Rugby World Cup Past Winners.

Rugby World Cup Past Winners

Hosted once every four years, the Rugby World Cup is rugby’s centerpiece event. It is the big stage that rugby players from all over the world dream of reaching. Held over the course of seven weeks, it is the 3rd largest sports event in the world after the summer Olympics and the Football World Cup.

Check out the Ruby World Cup Past winners:

1987  New Zealand  France Australia &
New Zealand
1991 Australia England England, France,
Ireland, Scotland
1995South Africa South Africa New ZealandSouth Africa South Africa15-12
1999 Australia FranceWales35-12
2003 England Australia Australia20-17
2007South Africa South Africa England France15-6
2011 New Zealand France New Zealand8-7
2015 New Zealand Australia England34-17
2019South Africa South Africa England Japan32-12

Till now only 4 countries have won the Trophy, New Zealand and South Africa three times, Australia twice, and England once.  South Africa is the current champion, having defeated England in the 2019 tournament final.

Nations with Most Rugby World Cup Wins

1). South Africa -3 times

South Africa is the reigning champions of the Rugby World Cup. They won their third title by defeating England in the final. Their team is known as the ‘Springboks’ as they play in green, gold jerseys with white shorts.

The team has been representing South Africa in an international rugby union since 30th July 1891, they played their first test match against the British Isles.

Their First-ever Title victory came in 1995 when the Springboks defeated the All Blacks. Later on, they won three titles in the years 1995, 2007, and 2019.

Their last two titles 2007 and 2019 came against England.

2). New Zealand – 3 times

The New Zealand men’s national team is commonly known as All Back. The New Zealand Rugby team won the event on different occasions, in 1987, 2011, and 2015. Moreover, All Blacks have a 77% winning record in test match rugby. They have played a test match against 19 nations. Out of 19, 11 have never won a game against them.

Furthermore, the New Zealand team is the most successful team in this sport. As they held the number one ranking longer than all the other teams cumulative. All the Black competed with Argentina, Australia, and South Africa in the Rugby Championship where they have won the trophy sixteen times in the history of 23 years.

3). Australia – 2 times

The Australia national rugby union team was popularly known as ‘Wallabies’.The Wallabies have competed in all nine Rugby World Cups. Out of All, They won the final on two occasions and also finished as a runner-up twice.

Australia’s first-ever Title came by beating England at Twickenham in the final of the 1991 Rugby World Cup. Then In 1999, They won again by handing a defeat to France in The Finals.


Rugby World Cup past Winners are:

  1. 1987: New Zealand
  2. 1991: Australia
  3. 1995: South Africa
  4. 1999: Australia
  5. 2003: England
  6. 2007: South Africa
  7. 2011: New Zealand
  8. 2015: New Zealand
  9. 2019: South Africa

In its short history, just four teams have emerged victorious in the Rugby World Cup. Here are the teams with the most Rugby World Cup titles since 1987.

  1. New Zealand – 3 times
  2. South Africa – 3
  3. Australia – 2
  4. England 1