History Of Australian Open Grand Slam Prize Money | How Much it Increase Since 2014 For Men & Women Singles?

Australian Open Prize History

Starts in the middle of January, Australian Open is the first event of the four Grand Slams which held each year in Melbourne Park, Australia. It features men’s & women’s singles; men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles alongside with junior’s championships, wheelchair, legends, and exhibition events. Not only for the quality competitions, the event is also famous for its huge prize money and match rewards. Here are the complete details about the history of Australian Open Grand Slam prize money.

History Of Australian Open Grand Salam Prize Money

Australian Open is one of the longest running tennis tournament and has millions of fans across the globe. With the passage of time, the beauty of the competition increased as money and technology brought innovation. The grass is replaced with hard outdoors in 1988 and now players are making enough money from participating in the matches.

The first Grand Slam of the year features immense prize money for the singles, doubles and mixed competitions. The winners and runners up pockets huge purses as their prize money share which make solid increments in their net worth. Below are the complete details about the announced prize money of Australian Open from the year 2014 to 2023.

The total purse for the 2014 tournament was $22.9 million. Stan Wawrinka was the men’s single champion and he pocketed $1.84 million as the prize money share. While the double’s winner pocketed $362k each and mixed doubles’ winner received $94k each.

The announced prize money increases continuously over the years as shown in the table below. Novak Djokovic won the 2020 men’s single event and is the player to receive highest prize money share in the history of Australian Open which is of $2.86 million.

YearTotal Prize MoneySinglesDoubles/PlayerMixed Doubles/Player
2014$22.9 Million$1.84 Million$362k$94k
2015$27.8 Million$2.1 Million$400k$99k
2016$30.6 Million$2.3 Million$442k$109k
2017$34.8 Million$2.5 Million$452k$104k
2018$38.2 Million$2.7 Million$522k$111k
2019$43.5 Million$2.8 Million$522k$128k
2020$49.4 Million$2.86 Million$529k$132k
2021$49.7 Million$1.9 Million$417k$104k
2022$51.5 Million$2 Million$469k$132k
2023$53.2 Million$2.1 Million$483k$110k

Australian Open 2023 Prize Money

The 2023 event scheduled to take place between January 16 to 29 as Rafael Nadal and Ashleigh Barty are the defending champions in men’s and women’s single. Tournament will feature the highest prize money of its all times history which is $53.2 million. Winner will take home $2 million as the purse share while the complete details revealed.

All these are the details about the history of Australian Open Grand Slam prize money. If there is any change, we will make them available here. Stay tuned for more information!